Unit 6: DJ Set Preparations

Low PrepHigh Prep

  1. Setting up likely playlists
Name of artist(s) and songs
1. Philip George – Wish You Were Mine
2. Disclosure – Jaded
3. Disclosure ft. Sam Smith – Latch
4. Disclosure & AlunaGeorge – White Noise
5. Route 94 ft. Jess Glynne – My Love
6. Mr. Probz – Waves (Robin Schulz Remix)
7. Calvin Harris & Disiples – How Deep Is Your Love
8. Storm Queen – Look Right Through (MK Remix)
9. MC JAY – R.F.T.W.
10. KDA ft. Tinie Tempah & Katy B – Turn the Music Louder (Rumble)
11. Sam Smith – Money On My Mind (MK Remix)
12. MK ft. Alana – Always (Route 94 Remix)
13. Calvin Harris & Disiples – How Deep Is Your Love (Chris Lake Remix)
14. INDIEHOP – Counting Stars (MC JAY Remix)
15. Joe Stone ft. Montell Jordan – The Party (This Is How We Do It)
16. Secondcity – I Wanna Feel
17. Blonde ft. Melissa Steel – I Loved You
18. DJ S.T.K. ft. Rae – Take Me Away
19. Philip George & Anton Powers – Alone No More
20. Tough Love ft. Ginuwine – Pony (Jump On It)

 

  1. Organising songs by set time

Original

  1. Wish You Were Mine – 84 bars (2 minutes 43 seconds)
  2. Jaded – 57 bars (1 Minute 57 seconds)
  3. Latch – 53 bars (1 Minutes 42 seconds)
  4. White Noise – 75 bars (2 Minutes 28 seconds)
  5. My Love – 89 bars (2 Minutes 56 seconds)
  6. Waves – 77 bars (2 Minutes 32 seconds)

Alterative

  1. Wish You Were Mine – 84 bars (2 minutes 43 seconds)
  2. Jaded – 57 bars (1 Minutes 57 seconds)
  3. White Noise – 35 bars (1 minute 8 seconds)
  4. My Love – 89 bars (2 Minutes 56 seconds)
  5. Waves – 77 bars (2 Minutes 32 seconds)
  6. How Deep Is Your Love – 97 bars (3 minutes 8 seconds)
  7. R.F.T.W. – 97 bars (3 minutes 12 seconds)
  8. Turn the Music Louder (Rumble) – 57 bars (1 minute 49 seconds)
  9. Money On My Mind (MK Remix) – 113 bars (3 minutes 36 seconds)
  10. Always (Route 94 Remix) – 61 bars (1 minute 57 seconds)
  11. How Deep Is Your Love (Chris Lake Remix) 81 bars (2 minutes 37 seconds)
  12. Counting Stars (MC JAY Remix) – 105 bars (3 minutes 24 seconds)
  13. The Party – 81 bars (2 minutes 34 seconds)
  14. I Wanna Feel – 73 bars (2 minutes 21 seconds)
  15. I Loved You – 93 bars (2 minutes 58 seconds)

 

  1. Pre-Configuring

To pre-configure, I had to know the structure of each and every song and use my musical knowledge in managing the transitions. From the outro to the intro, I achieved this by using the Serato software to configure the final outcome.

 

  1. Pre-sequencing

In preparation for my sequence, I listened to remixes and original House music on the internet. This would help me to select the House music for the live performance.

I pre-sequenced the above song list that I would be using within the live set.

 

Reference:

http://djtechtools.com/2012/03/19/is-planning-a-dj-set-cheating/

Unit 6: Prep Scale (picture)

 

Leave a Reply

