Unit 9: Advanced Techniques Productions

How I did the FutureShock Remix

This is the tutorial of how I did the remix to Craggz & Parallel’s FutureShock song and how this is important to use individual instruments stem audios.

How to get started?

Here’s the video of how to drop Stems and select individual parts to create your own remix

How I envisioned a remix?

I would love to screen record how I created the remix but I chose to screenshot my remix from Logic Pro X and explain how I envisioned a House remix.

I originally wanted the Bass Aux to go along the remix (as you seen in the video above) but it distorted too much when I bounced it out and decided to remove the bass. Leaving only two basses as it sounds better than the other one.

In this screenshot (below), I created two summing tracks for the drums and the basses, leaving the vocals on their own plus the Pop Strings.

screen-shot-2016-10-19-at-3-19-57-pm

In other screenshots (below), I created Aux Channels (in yellow) to make every instrument alive and natural rather than use the FX directly on the instrument tracks, as it would lose its natural sound like it has been bounced out at a level that is too low or too high.

To avoid having a bounce error, click on the Send section and select Bus 2, 3 & 4  to send one instrument part to three Aux Channels. You turn these buses into effects busses by opening a Compressor plug in on Bus 2, EQ on Bus 3 and Reverb on Bus 4. Use these to balance the peak volume and try not to boost the volume too much as it would cause distortion and could damage your hearing. After you create the three Aux Channels, go to the Send section on a channel you wish to effect, and where you see a ‘Bus 3’ pan pot that has not been turned up, (using the Mac) hold the Alt button and use the mouse to click on the Bus 3 turner to activate the Aux Channels.

When I created the Aux Channels for Pop Strings, in the Compression Aux channel I side-chained the Pop Strings with the kick to make the strings going in and out without clashing the kick. That’s an example of a technique Daft Punk used for their song ‘One More Time.’

screen-shot-2016-10-19-at-3-20-23-pm

screen-shot-2016-10-19-at-3-20-51-pm

So after I bounced it out, I uploaded to my SoundCloud openly to the public so you can listen to my remix as an example thanks to this technique I learned over the last few weeks.

Conclusion

To conclude, using advanced techniques will unlock new ways to experience your music and how to take your producing skills to a whole new level. So don’t put FX directly on the instrument tracks, create Aux Channels to put FX separately one to another so it will come out beautifully. Otherwise if you’re listening to your favourite song, imagine if the producer has never used Aux Channels. It will never sound brilliant.

So come on, learn new ways of advance techniques to unlock your new level so you can use it whenever, wherever.

©Jaywordpressnews 2016

Leave a Reply

