Unit 12: Final Major Project Task 4

Planning & Production

Planning

When planning a project like a dance music video, you have to bring together a number of different elements such as dancers, choreographers, the production crew and the directors. This means you have to pre-plan where you’re getting the dancers from and how to get in contact with the dancer company before the project has started.

The second part of planning is the location where you’re going to film. The way to do that is to check your schedule and their schedule before setting in stone the dates for the filming. This is also benefits from pre-planning. Once you know who and where, you need to get the track ready for rehearsals. Another thing to pre-plan is to get the release forms sorted for those who are over 18 or under 18.


Production

The next stage after planning is to get the production started and to make sure you’re on point without any false starts and/or delays.

The first part is rehearsals and to evaluate back to yourself is to watch some clips to give you an idea what can you expect to film of the dancers and how they will perform. This also means that you can work with the choreographers to time the dancers on the tempo of the song and the look of the final outcome.

Once I’m satisfied with the rehearsals, then it comes down to the filming process which is planned in such a way as to incourge expressions.

This was done by the choroegarpher to get each dancer to freestyle to a continuous loop of my song without stopping the track so it will not disturpt the flow of the dancers and the continuity of the filming.

The filming took two weeks to do, so that I captured each and every dancer. So that I could go to the editing process to get the final outcome done and dusted.

In the editing process, I have to make sure that there is no hesitation or time wasting and that it showed the energy of the dancers and my song together.


Release form evidence template

img_20170624_2154025b15d.jpg

My original storyboard

These storyboards was meant to be the original idea for my video but however I explained it in my problem solving part.


Evaluation aims of the planner

These documents (inserted below) are typed up from Microsoft Word as I did weekly planning from the start of the week to the very end.

Project action plan and timetable
Week Date week

beginning

Activity / what you are intending to do – including independent study Resources / what you will need to do – including access to resources
 

1

 

 

19/04/2017 Improving my music production.

 

I am going to tweak my track to adjust the volume levels of the instruments in the track with a little help from the owners of the company I am in contact with before showing it to the choreographer and the dancers.

I am going to need Logic Pro X software where I can adjust the volume levels when I come to their mini studio in the office based in a youth centre.
 

2

 

 

24/04/2017 Con. Improving my music production.

 

I was going to start the first rehearsal with the dance company, however the directors told me to tweak it more as it was not completed yet. So I am continuing tweaking my track little bit more before the rehearsal will begin.

Like last week, I am going to need Logic Pro X software where I can adjust the volume levels when I come to their mini studio in the office based in a youth centre.
3

 

 

 

01/05/2017 Discussion

 

It was going to be the first rehearsal as planned but due to lack of dancers and everything’s not going well, I have to discuss one of the directors of the dance company about timing and concerns

I will need to look at the calendar dates and explaining how long and short it’s going to take before the deadline is coming around the corner.
4

 

 

 

08/05/2017 First dance rehearsal

 

I am going to start the first proper rehearsal with the six dancers that I will need to incorporate my story ideas with the choreographer’s routines.

I will need the release forms for the dancers to be signed for anyone who is 18 and over can sign for themselves and/or under 18s will need their parent(s)/carer(s) to sign it for themselves.
 

5

 

 

15/05/2017 First week of video shooting.

 

I am going to start the video shooting with the dancers to set them in place where they will remember their footsteps and the routines in a group and individual shot ranges.

 

After the shooting is done, I will start editing immediately to edit the shot range of wide, medium and close ups to get done by end of this week.

I am going to need a camera, a tripod, a boom mike with the XLR cable and a sound recorder, the railing ramps and three lighting stands.

 

The dancers and the choreographer will be in the video shoot in different takes of shot range of wide, medium and close ups.

 

I will need Adobe Premiere software on a PC to edit the video clips from beginning to end.

 

6

 

 

22/05/2017 Second week of video shooting.

 

I am still continuing the video shooting with different people of their favourite hobbies of their choice they want to achieve in the future where there’s still diversity around.

 

After the shooting is wrapped up, I will finalise the remaining of the editing by the end of this week.

Like last week, I am going to need a camera, a tripod, a boom mike with the XLR cable and a sound recorder, the railing tracks, three lighting stands and release forms for those who are 18 years and over can sign it by him/herself and those who are under 18 years will need their parent(s)/career(s) to sign it for them.

 

I will need Adobe Premiere software on a PC to edit the remaining clips onto the main sequence of the chorography before exporting out and then I will upload it to YouTube.

7

 

 

29/05/2017 Editing the dance video

 

Now I have finished filming of all the dancers, I am going to edit the clips using Abode Premiere at the youth centre to get it all done by end of this week without rushing.

I will use Abode Premiere on a PC to edit the clips to synchronise with the song by watching and listening to the beat of four/eight counts before finalising at the end of the week.
8

 

 

 

06/06/2017 Performance

 

I am going to present the music video while playing my DJ set at the tempo of 122 BPM in a pub to get everyone’s attention on the week of 5th June.

I will use my MIDI DJ controller with my laptop while synchronising the music video that is playing on the projector from another laptop at the pub so I’ll know everyone will be dancing.

 

One thought on “Unit 12: Final Major Project Task 4

Leave a Reply

